Choreographers frequently turn to music when creating their works. However, Marie Chouinard has taken a Bosch painting as her reference to create a beautiful piece based on the famous triptych The Garden of Earthly Delights. Accordingly, the Canadian artist has structured the choreography into three acts -“The garden of earthly delights”, “Hell” and “Heaven”- each one corresponding to one of the panels on the triptych. And just as a choreographer can stick closely (or not) to a score, she has chosen to take her inspiration from the Bosch painting, its spirit, showing the joy of revering a work of art.

Since she presented her debut work in 1978, and especially since she founded her own company in 1990, the Canadian artist Marie Chouinard has become a cornerstone of dance throughout the world, recognised and honoured on countless occasions. She has recently been named the director of dance at the Venice Biennial for the period 2017-2020.

Produced by the Marie Chouinard Company in collaboration with the Jheronimus Bosch 500 Foundation (Netherlands)

World premiere in Den Bosch, Netherlands, 4 August 2016

The team

Choreography: Marie Chouinard

Original music: Louis Dufort

Dancers: Sébastien Cossette-Masse, Catherine Dagenais-Savard, Valeria Galluccio, Morgane Le Tiec, Scott McCabe, Sacha Ouellette-Deguire, Carol Prieur, Clémentine Schindler, Megan Walbaum

Stage design and video: Marie Chouinard

Lighting: Marie Chouinard

Wardrobe and accessories: Marie Chouinard

Make-up: Jacques-Lee Pelletier